100 Mandalas

WP_20141024 1 WP_20141024 3

Greetings

From a very mild, wet and windy UK, and as I look out my window the windfall of many colours means that we are well into Autumn and cooler climes. I am really attuned to the changing seasons, and whether it be blazing sunshine, freezing temperatures, or lashing down with rain I love looking at all the changes that go with it, but I digress and will save the rest of those thoughts for another post.

I have signed up for a challenge my very first in fact, to create Mandala’s over a 100 day period. This was something I could not resist as I absolutely love doing them and have so for a few years in various ways. I came across this via another artist who is also taking part and blogs here on WordPress, check out her blog here http://jackiefullerartist.wordpress.com/

You can also read about this challenge here http://collagediva.typepad.com/collagediva/100mandala.html

For me I have decided to do my mandala’s on separate pieces of paper in various sizes, big or small ones as and when my time allows and the beauty of this is that 100 days do not need to be consecutive. I also like the idea of working like this as I have various different types of paper that I can use and not to be constricted to one sketchbook and one size, and at the end I will collate them together as a portfolio. I have to say that I am really excited about this and have made up my mind that I will complete it, what fun is going to be had ! The picture you see above are my first two small ones which were done really quickly as a kind of warm up, using my Micron pens and pencils, on smooth white drawing paper. I also write on the back the date, number them and medium used, however I think I need to practise cutting my paper in a more straight line these two.

 

Leave a Reply

